The Sandbox Thread

8 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Humanoid Robot in MSRS

Back to Forum: The Sandbox
  • User profile image
    robezZz

Hi all!

I was invited to present my current project in the sandbox. So I'm pleased to do so.
    I'm a CS student at the University of Dortmund. Currently I'm in a project group at the Institute of Robotics, and we are preparing there a humanoid robot to participate at robocup in Atlanta (we are qualified Smiley ). Our team is called "DoH!Bots" and our webpage can be found at www.dohbots.com.

My part in team is the simulator. Currently, we are changing our simulator-plattform to MSRS.
    As the first task, I have modelled the robot. It took me about one week, to assebly all the meshes, physical bodies and joints. At the beginning I had some problems with the stability (or better - elasticity) of the joints, but finally, I managed the robot to keep standing upright Wink
    More screenhots you can find here: http://www.dohbots.com/dev_simulator
    Unfortunately, I haven't managed yet to get the robot shaded - had no time for it - so It's a bit dark.

I cannot provide the source by now, but I'll make it, when I clean it up Wink

Greets,
    Robert

• User profile image
    array2001

Wow, it looks promissing! So, it is a model of a real robot, right? Are you planning to use the same control code for both the real robot and the MSRS simulated one?

I can understand that the simulation of the NXT differential drive gives you enough realistic feedback to develop code that will fairly work in the real life, but this kind of humanoid robot.. Do you think the model and the simulated physics are that much accurate to provide useful experimentations??

Regards,
    Raul

• User profile image
    robezZz

Hi Raul,

array2001 wrote: