Tech Off Thread

4 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

WPF (Avalon) & Performance

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Lord Holtzer

Hi

First post here on Channel9, so allow me to take some space and congratulate the Channel9 tem at doing an excellent job. Over the past year, you've given me a wonderfull porthole into the world of software, and more than once encouraged me to work harder at becoming a better developer. Keep on with the great job!

Now, one of the things that have been literally keeping me up at nights is WPF (formerly known...). This great step to remove many of the current limits in UI creation is as exciting to me as the move from DOS to Win95 (Windows 3.11 and earlier versions just didn't do much for me), which pretty much made me the GUI and UX addict I am today.

As a developer, I've learned that everything comes with a cost, and I'm talking about the cost in user-experience. Add a new feature, which will enhance the abilities for your application, but it'll cost you with a more complicated app. Add better presentation, and it'll cost you with poor performance - once the end user installs it on his (usually very) poor client machine.
    A good example to what I'm talking about is something I did a while ago: I've developed a web-based application that was rendering graphs on the client's side using VML. The process itself was pretty cool, since I was using XSLT to generate the required VML code, but as soon as I've installed it on an end-user machine, I was able to see how hard it was for IE to handle all the elements that were created as part of the graph (a couple of thousands and more).

This has led me to start thinking of WPF as similar to an all-around VML - which now (finally) brings me to my question: