Tech Off Thread

6 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Digitial Signitures and Public/Private key pairs in Server/Client Communications

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Shark_M

Hi guys,
        I am trying to implement secure communication between clients and servers. I am studying what is the best way to ensure that data is not altered in transit and its source is authentic. Using .NET framework, i found the classes that allow for Digital signitures, and other crypto classes that allow me to make sure that the message is not altered while in transit, by using Hashing.

Given message, and the hash of the message that was sent from the remote end, a new message hash digest is made and then a byte by byte comparison between the hash sent and the new hash digest of the decrypted message. If both match then the data is not tampered while in transit.

I dont understand one thing here. what does the client have to send for this to work? It sends the Hash digest of the message, and the digital key?? or what?

So client send  x,y,z,          server gets it and does a verification

but how does the server get the actual message that was encrypted as hash  to do the verification check? again i dont understand what the client has to send in order for this to work?

about digital signitures, how does it really work? what does the client do and what does it send? and what does the server do after that?

I am new to this, and want to understand  how it works in the simplist terms possible.

Thanks

• User profile image
    amotif

Have you considered using HTTPS?

• User profile image
    rheaney

If you want to know more about public/private keys and digital signatures, I suggest you pick up "Invitation to Cryptology" from Amazon (or somewhere else). I takes you through it all, and although its a bit pricey, it does quite a good job of explaining the process in detail.