Tech Off Thread

8 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Hosting a *.exe in a windows form

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Angus

OK, I started playing this game, but it is full screen, is there any way I could host the *.exe inside a windows form so that it is not full screen, any help would be fantastic. By the way, I don't particualrly mind on what language is used, so long as it is either Visual C#, Visual C++, or Visual BASIC, and the coding is fairly simple.

Thanks in advance

Angus Higgins

• User profile image
    Stitch 2.0

I did something like this once, when building an application framework for a tool I wrote.

Unfortunately, I don't have access to my computer at the moment, since I just moved to Switzerland.

It was pretty easy, as far as I remember.

You just had to load the exe into your appdomain, find out which is the entrypoint in the exe and then call that.

Too bad, I don't have the code at hand....

As soon as I have it, I'll post it...

• User profile image
    Angus

Thanks

Angus Higgins

• User profile image
    Stitch 2.0

Thanks to the omnipresent internet, I have found my framework online. Wink

I have posted it over here in the Sandbox...

I hope this helps...

• User profile image
    W3bbo

Angus wrote:

OK, I started playing this game, but it is full screen, is there any way I could host the *.exe inside a windows form so that it is not full screen, any help would be fantastic. By the way, I don't particualrly mind on what language is used, so long as it is either Visual C#, Visual C++, or Visual BASIC, and the coding is fairly simple

Why not just call Win32 ShellExecute with the "windowed" constant?

• User profile image
    Sven Groot

W3bbo wrote:
    Angus wrote: