Tech Off Thread

39 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Ruby on Rails vs. ASP.NET Deathmatch!!!

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    mrichman

I knew that subject would get your attention Smiley

I've never programmed in Ruby before, but I just watched these impressive presentations on Ruby on Rails, and I would love to see the ASP.NET community counter with demos of their own:

http://rubyonrails.org/screencasts

While Ruby on Rails may seem to allow one to get a simple app up and running quickly, ASP.NET has a whole lot less *total* code, even if it may take a bit longer. For example, I bet that blog demo can be done in ASP.NET with one .aspx file with little or no code-behind and a web.config, plus an .mdf.

Symfony looked cool too: http://downloads.symfony-project.com/demo/cart/cart.mov

Thoughts?

• User profile image
    unix?

I am a .NET Developer (in my job). I have tested RoR and I think it is fantastic. Programming makes fun and is very nice not to code so much code.

Very good AJAX integration. Unit, functional testing, integration testing integrated (and very easy/fast to use). I think the complete framework is focused on agile development.

Very productive framework - the best I have ever seen (until now). Caching, MVC ... integrated too.
    An OR/Mapper is integrated too Smiley

And the programming language Ruby is very modern. It is much mode dynamic and not strongly typed like C#, Java,... it has mixins, ... and you can extend a foreign class without modify the source class.
    I think the future in programming are not strongly typed languages - see F# of Microsoft research.
    With scaffolding you can reduce the code you have to write or the drag and drop actions you need.

Deployment is managed with Switchtower, ... very cool.