Tech Off Thread

37 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

VB.Net How do i reverse the sign of an Integer?

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Lee_Dale

I can't seem to do it Perplexed

• User profile image
    Lee_Dale

i can do it like this

(myInt) - (myInt *2)

is there a function in VB?

• User profile image
    Yggdrasil

leeappdalecom wrote:
    i can do it like this

(myInt) - (myInt *2)

is there a function in VB?

A simpler way would be (myInt * -1).
    I had a look around the Math class, but couldn't find anything specific.

• User profile image
    Anonymous.​Programmer

I'm guessing, since I don't use Vb.Net, but I can't believe that you can't do this:

MyInt = -MyInt

• User profile image
    Lee_Dale

Cool cheers guys, you would have though the Math class would have a function to do this, I'm a programmer I dont want to have to do maths manually thats what the computers for lol

• User profile image
    figuerres

leeappdalecom wrote:
    Cool cheers guys, you would have though the Math class would have a function to do this, I'm a programmer I dont want to have to do maths manually thats what the computers for lol

the "standard" method is x*-1 as another post said.

that bit of code is very small and if you built a function for it then the perfomance would suck... pushing and poping the stack etc...
    to do what is generaly about 2 or 3 machine level instructions.

also the compiler can generate code from that expression for all kinds of data, byte, short int, long int, float, decimal and whatever.

if you want the value "X" to have the inverse directly then you code:

x =  x*-1

where x is any valid data type such as an int.

you can also use a binary operator if you want to get cute, invert the bits of an int and you have the same effect as I recall, been a while since I did that ... MASM for DOS back then.

• User profile image
    AndyC