Tech Off Thread

17 posts

Why dont Micorsoft use windows forms?

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    AndyStewart

Hi

This is just a quick question to all you Microsoft Techies. Before I start I better give myself a quick intro so not to get accused of MS bashing. I'm a professional C# developer in the Uk, so I do actually really like .net and would like to see more .net usage.

However I feel that there are mixed words coming from MS regarding windows forms, on one hand there saying "Use Windows Forms its great, much better than HTML and asp.net" (application wise). However on the other hand, I cant think of one MS .net application(not including example apps) that uses winforms. MSN Messenger - no (even though it has .net wrote all over it), media player - no, IE - no.

So my question in short, if winforms is so good why havent you realeased any apps using it. Also why havent you made the .net Framework a compulsory install through Auto Updates?

As no installed framework on a machine is the obvious hold back for small ISV's.

Thanks

Andy

• User profile image
    will

In regards to MSN Messenger, the ".NET Branded" part that you see is just purely referring to the .NET Passport.

I think when Longhorn comes out, you'll see much more applications running on .NET, or .NET with WinFX.

I think there is some software plugins and powertoys from Microsoft that have been released recently that do make use of the .NET Framework. (Look for the OneNote powertoys...)

I think there was a previous thread somewhere where somebody has asked about it.

Here's one thread.

• User profile image
    Holesinswiss

If I'm not mistaken, the new SQL Server 2005 administration and DTS applications will use Windows Forms. Also, portions of Visual Studio .NET already use WinForms (more with each new version).