Tech Off Thread

16 posts

I finally found a way to learn C++; what do I do after I am done reading this tutorial?

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Shining Arcanine

In 1999, I taught myself HTML. In late 2002, I started learning PHP with a friend's help. For quite some time, I have wanted to learn computer programming. First C#'s PHP like syntax attracted me to it, but I did not have a compiler to use to start learning. One day, I got a copy of Visual Basic .NET Standard 2003 from Microsoft through a promotion that was on MSDN. I did not realize that Visual Basic was actually another language until after I received Visual Basic .NET Standard 2003, so I tried it and I ended up disliking its syntax. Then later, Microsoft came out with its Express product betas, so I finally got to play with C#, but after a while, I realized that .NET was not an attempt to make things more efficient but an attempt to sacrifice efficiency to increase productivity and being the perfectionist that I am, I did not like that. After inquiring about it on here, I learned that I want to learn C++. I was not sure how to start learning it without using Microsoft's .NET framework, even though I wanted to learn traditional C++. Then time passed, and Microsoft had another promotion on MSDN. This time it was for a copy of Visual Studio 2005 Standard Edition so I procured a copy. I first tried compiling some very complex programs like VirtualDub and Firefox to get an idea of how to use it, which did not work out very well. Time passed and today, I randomly typed "learn C++" into Google and I found the following tutorial:

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/

The code examples would not work in Visual Studio 2005 Standard Edition, so I did some research and I found on MSDN instructions on how to make it work:

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms235629.aspx