Tech Off Thread

9 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

C++.NET Express and Learning C++ Problem

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    darklotus

Disclaimer: I am a total newbie, please go easy on this question.

I recently started teaching myself C++. I started with a book and a linux shell with g++ as a c++ compiler. I had no problems. I recently got a copy of Visual C++ Express Edition Beta 1 and decided to write some of my code with the shiny new editor. However, when it comes to compiling it cant find cout and cin and endl. I can only assume these are standard C++ functions or whatever they are called. Below is part of the error file C++.NET Express generated. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Do cout and cin and stuff exist in  .NET 2005?
    -dL

[BuildLog.htm]
    Compiling...
    hello.cpp
    c:\<shortened>\hello.cpp(23) : error C2065: 'cout' : undeclared identifier
    c:\<shortened>\hello.cpp(24) : error C2065: 'cin' : undeclared identifier
    c:\<shortened>\hello.cpp(47) : error C2065: 'endl' : undeclared identifier

• User profile image
    JustinSyc

try add

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

before your code.

• User profile image
    darklotus

I tried that last night as well, i got the same errors.

[CODE]
    #include <iostream>
    #include "stdafx.h"
    #include "math.h"
    #include "time.h"
    #include "stdlib.h"

int rand_0toN1(int n);
    void draw_a_card();
    int select_next_available(int n);

char *suits[4] = {"hearts","diamonds","spades","clubs"};
    char *ranks[13] = {"ace","two","three","four","five","six","seven","eight","nine","ten","jack","queen","king"};

int card_drawn[52];
    int cards_remaining = 52;

int main()
    {
        int n, i;

while(1)
        {
            cout << "Enter number of cards to draw (0 to exit): ";
            cin >> n;

if(n == 0)
                break;

for(i = 1; i <= n; i++)