Tech Off Thread

10 posts

basic C# question

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • katana_234

Hi guys, it is my first time posting here in channel9, so please if I made a mistake, please tell me.

I am currentlly learning C#, but I couldn`t understand the Event and the Event Handler, can some one help me with it? I have read the documentation in the library of the C# express edition but I didn't managed to understand it very well.

And thank you in advance.

• littleguru

The even is an implementation of the observer design pattern. The idea is that you can register for something to happen and once it happens you get informed about that.

In concrete you register an event (is something that happens) of an object instance. And that instance is going to inform you when something happens...

Example:

// First we create an instance of the Button class. This is a normal
    // button that can be clicked.
    Button btn = new Button();
    // Now we register the Click event. That means we get notified each
    // time the button got clicked. The btn_Click is a method that is
    // going to be called when the button gets clicked.
    btn.Click += new EventHandler(btn_Click);

// That's the method that is going to be called.
    private void btn_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        // Here we do something with the event.
        // For example show a message box.
        MessageBox.Show("Hello World!");
    }

In the example we registered the Click event. Registering means we told the button to call the method that we provided, when somebody clicked it. The += is just notation: it means that we want to register this method (= have it called when a click happens). There is also -= which would mean that we don't want that method called anymore.

new EventHandler is a delegate. In .NET you can't directly give to the event a method. This doesn't work:

btn.Click += btn_Click;