Tech Off Thread

7 posts

help! please! DateTime handling... :((

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    claxonn

Hi everyone,

i'm a programmer from Romania, medium level .. let's say, but since i've started to write code i had a problem... the DateTime type. The problem is that every time it's the discution .. 03.02.2005 means March 2nd 2005, or 3 - february -2005?

How can write safe code that won't care about the regional settings (of the server, of the local computer)?

One more thing .. i know that TDateTime is a double. 

So .. any hints from you guys/girls?  TKS.

• User profile image
    GurliGebis

I'm not sure what you are asking about.
    But if you are storing a date, I would suggest using this format: YYYYMMDD , since it makes it possible to sort it easy.
    You could also try using unix time (seconds since 1. January 1970 00:00:00 GMT).
    If you where asking for something else, please correct me.

• User profile image
    claxonn

Example:

Now i'm working to an app. developed with MqSQL 4.1.19. Connection: MyODMC. I store a date in the database. When i retrive it .. i try to store in in a string variable. Depending on local setting, the string contains '03.02.2005' or '02/03/2005'. Now .. I want to know if there is a method to handle this kind of situations.

It's clearer now? TKS.

• User profile image
    Mike Dimmick

Call DateTime.ParseExact to convert from a string in a specific format to a date, or call DateTime.ToString with a custom format.

• User profile image
    claxonn

That's the problem! I don't want to use a specific format because the server's local setting may vary and it's not a good solution. I want to know if there is a date format standard for developers, for writing code .. you know .. we like precise thing.

Anybody .. how do you handle situations in witch you must store dates in a MySQL Db.

If someone has a small routine of doing those thing .. please help me.