Tech Off Thread

8 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Will channel9 ever adhere to w3c standards compliance?

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    zyrorl

Being a coder i take pride in my code and especially when it comes to html code I attempt to do my best to make sure its viewable across all browsers and that it is as standards compliant as possible... however... channel9 appears to have some absolutely horrendous html code which can contribute to:

a) accessibility problems (i mean vision impared people)
    b) rendering problems
    c) inconsistancy across browser platforms

Below you'll find a url to channel9's validated source code by the w3c validator:

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fchannel9.msdn.com&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=%28detect+automatically%29

My question is, why does channel9 not attempt to make code that simply complies to w3c standards?

I mean we're all developers here (well at least the majority), it would be rather nice if channel9 complied with w3c set standards.

This opens up a debate of what really is the reason behind microsoft not wishing to adhere to industry standards and deciding to create their own rules. 

Why is it that microsoft likes to defy this?
    Why not make something that is commonly accessible by all platforms by adhering to a standard?

• User profile image
    jonathanh

You can find some previous discussions about this on the "Known Issues with Channel 9" thread. Some of the content from that thread has in turn been aggregated onto the wiki as Channel9Bugs. And you're probably interested specifically in the SuckyHtml page Smiley

• User profile image
    bitmask

Works on my machine Smiley

• User profile image
    lostdude

sigh...pop in...register and then whine...nice

• User profile image
    lenn