Tech Off Thread

10 posts

Windows 7 Backup error 0x80070005

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • Doctor Who

Windows 7 suggested that I setup a backup job, to backup to an external hard drive.  I've got such a drive and thought that was a good idea, so I setup the default job that Windows 7 Backup suggested and let it run.  It failed with a 0x80070005 error ("Access is denied").  I'm not sure why access would be denied, as I supplied it my own credentials and I'm an administrator.

So, what's the problem?

• ManipUni

That error code is very general. It could be failed authenication but then again it could be that it failed to get access to the files it was trying to copy or the destination it is trying to copy to.

Does your admin' account have a password (instead of no password)?

Are you able to open the files you're attempting to copy?

Are you trying to copy a Junction Point?

Did you try using the System account?

• LeoDavidson

Is the external hard drive formatted as NTFS? Was it formatted on another machine?

It could be that you need to fix-up the file/folder permissions on the external drive so that your account is allowed to write to it.

• Doctor Who

ManipUni said:

That error code is very general. It could be failed authenication but then again it could be that it failed to get access to the files it was trying to copy or the destination it is trying to copy to.

Does your admin' account have a password (instead of no password)?

Are you able to open the files you're attempting to copy?

Are you trying to copy a Junction Point?

Did you try using the System account?

The admi account does have a password, which I've entered

Yes, I'm able to access the files I'm attempting to copy.

I don't know what a Junction Point is, so I don't know if I'm attempting to copy it or not.

No, I'm not using a System account.