Tech Off Thread

5 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Newbie need walk through publishing ASP.NET app--I show screenshots

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    PJL

I am a newbie who needs some hand holding on publishing an ASP.NET app I wrote.  It's running fine under the Visual Studio 2008 Express ASP.NET Development Server on my hard drive as localhost, but I need to publish it.

I wish to join a commercial web service like discountasp.net, but I am concerned that they will not help me publish.  Before I join them (or anybody else) I would like to know what steps I would have to take to publish.  So I'm asking this group.

Any advice greatly appreciated, even reference books if necessary.

PJ

Here are some screenshots: 

http://cid-04b57c48188f7179.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Programming%20Album/WebScreen001Publish.jpg 

In Visual Studio 2008 for ASP.NET, click on Build, then Publish will give you this screenshot

http://cid-04b57c48188f7179.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Programming%20Album/WebScreen000RemoteIIS.jpg

Clicking on the ellipses (...) of the prior screenshot, then on Local IIS button will give you this screenshot. But you must be the web server Administrator to run this option, so that excludes me I bet, leaving only "FTP Site" and "Remote Site" as options to publish? 

http://cid-04b57c48188f7179.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Programming%20Album/WebScreen002FTP.jpg

Clicking on the FTP button gives this screen. If I was a member of a commercial server like discountasp.net, I could set up a Username and Password to FTP to this site?

http://cid-04b57c48188f7179.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Programming%20Album/WebScreen003RemoteWebSite.jpg