Tech Off Thread

6 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Help needed immediately

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Loadsgood

I need help for one of my umm... "friends" yes thats it... "friend" (cough, cough) uh not me, no I don't need help, but my err "friend" needs help on the basics of code, you know like how to start a section of code, end it. When the person opens the program they enter some numbers and get answers back out; how to make a background just umm... general starting tips please. My friend would very much appreciate it. Smiley

PS - Visual Basic code please.

• User profile image
    Jazzynupe

Tell your.. UMMMM friend.. that VB.NET is not bad to get started with...

Basic code.. UMMM console app... can't get more basic than that...

I am sure there are others here who can guide you better... but as an intermediate to a novice here you go...

Module Module1

Sub Main()

Console.WriteLine("simple app")

End Sub

End Module

How's that for easy...

What does this mean? Well you have a block of code called main... this main runs a command for the System.Console class (the system part is "hidden") then it tells that class to write a line of text saying "simple app"..

Not bad for a simple app... Of course it only gets more and more complicated for there, but you can't get much simpler than that.. Smiley

• User profile image
    spod

Hi loadsgood...

i'm not saying vb.net isn't a good choice...but your friend might also want to give c# a go also: the framework and runtime are the same, so the choice is primarily one of which syntax she prefers...

http://www.csharpfriends.com/statics/csharp.aspx

looks like a nice starting point if they want to give it a try 

links to hello world etc here...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/csref/html/vcoricsharptutorials.asp

• User profile image
    Loadsgood