Tech Off Thread

8 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

Where do I look to find what I want?

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    pdcjlw1

I am new to the object oriented Visual Studio programming and I am having a lot of trouble finding out how to do stuff I want to do. Let me give you an example. If I want to round a varible to 2 decimal places where do I look for the sytax of doing that? How do I know if I just need to use a .round type of thing or will it be more like a round(x,Var1) kind of thing. Or how do I setup a dropdown box to read from a table instead of a manual entered list. And the biggest one, how do I connect to a data source. I can copy the string someone else has used to connect to say SQLServer, but there seems to be several ways you can connect to a database. Is one better than the other? Does it depend on the kind of data or the amount of data or how busy the database is? Or maybe how many different tables I will use? And don't get me started on DataTables. I really don't know what it is they do? Any good references on this stuff?

thanks.

• User profile image
    NotSoTragic​Hero

A few places.

Check out the MSDN Library.  Along with the API, it has a lot of good references and tutorials.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/default.aspx

If you can't find what you need by doing a Google search, you can always just ask here, or on the MSDN or CodeProject forums:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/categories

http://www.codeproject.com/script/Forums/List.aspx

• User profile image
    pdcjlw1

NotSoTragicHero said:

A few places.

Check out the MSDN Library.  Along with the API, it has a lot of good references and tutorials.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/default.aspx

If you can't find what you need by doing a Google search, you can always just ask here, or on the MSDN or CodeProject forums: