Tech Off Thread

9 posts

tools of the trade

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    Pseudo

I thought I'd start a thread where people can post which tools they use when programming with .NET.  This could be IDE's, Debugging tools, Documentation tools, Languages, Profilers, etc.

I use:

Visual Studio .NET 2003 (C# coding/debuging mostly)
    MSDN Library (obvious...)
    FxCop (Analizes code and writes you parking tickets or something...)
    Reflector (A sweeeeeet .NET Assembly browser/Decompiler)

Thats about it.  I'm looking to expand my usage of tools, so please dont be shy and list off everything you use!

• User profile image
    miies

For .NET: just VisualStudio 2003 and the MSDN library collection for VS. No other funky tools, sorry Smiley

I'm also a DBA, so I use all the SQL2K client tools too (I spend a lot of time in Query Analyzer, writing TSQL scripts and procedures).

And for classic ASP: good old Interdev with XMLCheck plugin..

• User profile image
    SKG

For me the staples are:

Visual Studio 2003
    MSDN
    notepad & the csc.exe (for quick projects)

Sometimes I'll check out other tools (similiar to "XML Notepad") especially XML editors, not really to see what the competition is doing, but more searching for the easist to use tool for editing XML, XSLT & XSD.

Any freeware suggestions?

• User profile image
    Andrew Davey

I recently had to do some serious HTML parsing for a client. Regular expressions were the way to go. So I downloaded RegexDesigner.NET from Chris Sells site:
    http://www.sellsbrothers.com/tools/#regexd
    This tool is great, simple to use and even generates code for you!
    In fact that site is packed full of really useful tools.

Thanks Chris - you saved me a whole lot of time!
    P.S. Maybe you can get the RegexDesigner into Visual Studio?

• User profile image
    Lwatson

Here at TAIsoftware we use

VS.Net 2003    (of course)
    MSDN           (Ditto)
    VS 6 (for some older vb apps we support)