Tech Off Thread

17 posts

Sending a fax through NET platform

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • Richard1975

Hi all,

I am developing an application (developed in C#) that will give the user the ability to send a fax.

However, I haven't come across any .NET libraries to do this (I am still new to the platform). From my investigations I am considering going down the path of developing a wrapper to the MAPI API in c#, is this a crazy idea?. 

However, I am not too keen on this as I have no idea how long this is going to take me to do. 

If anyone out there could give me any suggestions on what would be the best option to take and/or libraries in .NET, if they exist. I would greatlty appreciate this.

• Richard1975

I forgot, There is no mail server eg exchange running on the machine.

• rhm

Go to http://www.componentsource.com and search for "fax". There don't appear to be and 'pure' .NET fax components available, but they have activeX components which you can call from .NET.

• figuerres

CaptainOblivious wrote:

Hi all,

I am developing an application (developed in C#) that will give the user the ability to send a fax.

However, I haven't come across any .NET libraries to do this (I am still new to the platform). From my investigations I am considering going down the path of developing a wrapper to the MAPI API in c#, is this a crazy idea?. 

However, I am not too keen on this as I have no idea how long this is going to take me to do. 

If anyone out there could give me any suggestions on what would be the best option to take and/or libraries in .NET, if they exist. I would greatlty appreciate this.

any user -- is this for commercial / wide distribution or a target user ??

for example some printers have faxing built in, my HP all-in-one can just "Print" to a second print driver that will fax the document.

if you have users with that kind of multi-function printer in an office you might be able to just use that printer and it's print dialog.