Tech Off Thread

6 posts

Newbie (quite possibly) problem with C++

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    JeanValjean

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a beginner to programming and was wondering whether anyone could help me with this snippet of some code I've been working on. I want it to play with a large array but at the moment, the program worked fine for smaller values of the num_nodes variable but is crashing completely at the creationg of the larger nodes[num_nodes] array. It's very frustrating, and no, as you can see from my very archaic debugging tools, I don't have the luxury of installing visual studio, and have been using gcc based dev-cpp (mingw version) compiler.

The bizarre thing is that it works fine for larger values when compiled in Linux.

Here's the code.

wrote:

#include <iostream>
     #include <fstream>

using namespace std;

int main(){
      ofstream debug_file("debug.txt");

struct vertex {
       int element_id;
       int element_type; // could be a very large value
       int corner;
      };

struct element_aware_node {
       float x, y;
       int node_type;
       int row_below;
      int num_elements;
      vertex vertex_of[10];
      int fem_pos;
      };

cout << "input the number of nodes to create..." << endl;

int num_nodes= 0;

while ((!(cin >> num_nodes)) || (num_nodes <= 0)){
       cin.clear();
       cin.ignore(1000, '\n'); //ignore first 1000- an arbitrary large value- characters or characters uptill the first carriage return, whichever occurs first.

cout << "input the number of nodes to create, number must be a positive integer!" << endl;
       debug_file << "\nNumber of nodes entered by user is " << num_nodes << endl;
      }
      element_aware_node node1;

vertex v;
      debug_file << "sizeof(vertex)= " << sizeof(v) << endl << endl;

debug_file << "\nNow creating " << num_nodes << " nodes..." << endl;