Tech Off Thread

10 posts

Smart Clients vs. Web Clients

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    DadofEight

Hey Channel 9'ers-

I recently attended a conference where Billy Hollis (forgive me Billy if I have the wrong guy) quoted a credible industry source that asserted by the end of 2005, 60% of applications being developed will have Smart Client front-ends vs. Web front-ends.  This is exciting news for people like me who have been spending years trying to cobble together a reasonably user-friendly front-end in a browser. 

I think that as a programmer, I see the 60% statistic as reasonable.  After all, we're leaving .dll hell beyind us and deployment technologies in the current .net platform and those coming in Whidby make the installation and automatic updates of smart client technology reasonably painless.

It seems that many businesses and corporate IT shops that I speak to are still resistent to Smart Client solutions.  I have one very large client here in Vermont whose IT shop is digging their heals in insisting that a web application is the way to go for their solution.  This client has volumous data-entry tasks with many intricate dependencies.  A web client simply will not cut it.  But, they are still in the mentality that installs across desktops are simply too time consuming and painful.

So are you all experiencing the same things out there?  Are you talking Smart Clients to businesses?  How has the reception been?  Do you think the pendulum is truly swinging away from the browser back to Smart/Rich Client front-ends?

Al

• User profile image
    bitmask