Tech Off Thread

5 posts

_ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL error converting VC++6.0 to VC++ 2010

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • daElite​Sniper

A Brief background about me, I have been doing VB/VB.net, ASP.net, and C# development only but my experience with VC++ has been at the class room level.  I have been doing development for a little over 14 years.

With that said, I am currently working on migrating a VB6 project to C# using VS 2010 as well as upgrading VC++ 6.0 project to VS 2010.  My goal is to migrate VC++ 6.0 to VC++ 2010, then once I have that all compiling and working I will convert it over to C#.  However I am running into issue with this plan which is this:

error LNK2038: mismatch detected for '_ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL': value '0' doesn't match value '2' in CompressionObj.obj with file libcpmt.lib(newaop.obj)

Since my knowledge of VC++ is limited can someone please tell me what I should be looking for and how to go about fixing this?  All I know about _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL is this

1. _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL = 0 // disabled (for release builds)
    2. _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL = 1 // enabled (if _SECURE_SCL is defined)
    3. _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL = 2 // enabled (for debug builds)

I've done a Entire Solution search for _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL and _SECURE_SCL but my search turned up nothing in my code.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.  NOTE:  Because of corporate security protocols I cannot provide sample code.

• Matt_PD

It looks like you're attempting to link object files built with different _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL (IDL) settings -- since the standard library / run-time libs versions linked with different IDL settings are not mutually compatible, this won't work. Try rebuilding the entire solution, making sure (in the configuration/properties) that the debug/release setting are consistent throughout all of its projects.

For more info on what _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL is and what it does, see: