Coffeehouse Thread

24 posts

Windows Update required services??

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    WayneB

I've been using the Windows Update website since it's inception and it never required me to have certain services running.

Now it requires that the Automatic Update (AU), BITS, and Event Log services running.

As a developer I KNOW that these services are not required for the web page to simply send me an executeable over the wire.

What's up with that Microsoft?? At least give people a choice. Oh wait, I forgot...Microsoft knows what's best for me. (not!)

• User profile image
    Jeremy W

BITS is the Background Intelligent Updater Server. It's used to automatically poll for new downloads and to manage those downloads.

AU is used to do the actual installation (I believe, though someone correct me if I'm wrong) and Event Log is required to... Log the events.

None of these are required to be up in order to run the website, are they?

I can check when I'm at home tonight, if you'd like, but it would be interesting to see the website turn you away just because BITS is off.

• User profile image
    Manip2

WayneB wrote:
    As a developer I KNOW that these services are not required for the web page to simply send me an executeable over the wire.

muhahahah .. if I had a pound for every time I heard that..

'Develops should be allowed to download any file type though the proxy, we are not children'

'I need administrator rights on the domain controller.. So I can transfer project updates across..'

'I removed the anti-virus software because it was interrupting my development work..'

• User profile image
    Manip2

BITs does need to be switched on I know that much. I think that started with V5. I'm not sure if events logger does but it wouldn't shock me..

• User profile image
    Jeremy W

I actually meant to say "besides BITS", because I do believe package delivery happens through BITS.