Coffeehouse Thread

25 posts

Self-Taught: What do employers think?

Back to Forum: Coffeehouse
  • User profile image
    thumbtacks2

I'm curious...what do employers think of "self taught" programmers? Is it viewed as a positive trait or generally ignored? How would you convey that on a resume (or not)?

• User profile image
    Cybermagell​an

thumbtacks2 wrote:
    I'm curious...what do employers think of "self taught" programmers? Is it viewed as a positive trait or generally ignored?

If you're gonna be self taught, have a decent portfolio....

My blog was loud enough to get me noticed....which coincidently my blog is now being linked to by official blogs which is wierd.

• User profile image
    rcardona

In interview processes I interview self-taught programmers a bit more broadly to make sure they're not just trained monkeys.

• User profile image
    blowdart

rcardona wrote:
    In interview processes I interview self-taught programmers a bit more broadly to make sure they're not just trained monkeys.

Strange, I do that to graduates, especially those from a bank background, as they usually have no idea how to think for themselves.

*shrug* I prefer to see people learning themselves, with or without a degree. It's the only way to keep up.

• User profile image
    ScanIAm

All decent programmers are self-taught. 

Of them, some have graduated college. 

By doing so, they've proven

1) they have the tenacity to fight through the bureaucratic nightmare of college.
    2) they are willing to work toward a long term goal

Pansy-a$$ slackers who only 'think' they are good programmers need to spend some time in the trenches one way or another.  

Unfortunately, I get the feeling that sometimes, people aren't willing to suffer in the trenches. 

I've met people who say "Well I know everything there is to know about technology X, why don't I get a job programming it/using it".