Tech Off Thread

14 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

getting dataitem for gridview row on postback

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    JParrish

Is there a way to get to the dataitem for a gridview row, when a postback is made from outside of the gridview itself? I have checkboxes that I am using to indicate selection, and want to be able to get to the object I use to bind the gridview for each row that is checked when a button is pressed. Thanks for info, I'm still a grid newb! Tongue Out

• User profile image
    odujosh

Assuming ASP.NET:
    You can put a Templated column in the gridview Columns collection and put a checkbox control in the column. There are two hooks (I can name off the top of my head) on post back:
    -Set Checkbox to auto post back (or use AJAX). Then you can access the Gridview Row by the ParentControl Property during the Selected Event of the Checkbox.
    -Foreach through each gridviewrow at a more convient post back back time. Test for the Selected property of the check box. Do work based on that.

Later Josh

• User profile image
    JParrish

odujosh wrote:

-Foreach through each gridviewrow at a more convient post back back time. Test for the Selected property of the check box. Do work based on that.

That is what I am doing, unfortunately the checkbox and the template column have no attribute that I can use to just store a data value, in winforms most components have a "Tag" attribute that you can throw some data into.

I am resorting to adding a hidden column and trying to get the data back from it. Thanks

• User profile image
    odujosh

I'll get you some source tommorow showing you what I mean.

• User profile image
    LostIn​Tangent

odujosh wrote:
    Assuming ASP.NET: