Tech Off Thread

10 posts

Forum Read Only

This forum has been made read only by the site admins. No new threads or comments can be added.

How to Start Learning Windows XP Programming

Back to Forum: Tech Off
  • User profile image
    retierney

Hi everyone!

I am a programmer by trade and I program exclusively on UNIX.  Well, actually I do Level 3 support and some programming.  I am trying to transfer into R&D so that I can do programming fulltime.  My manger is cool with that but we don't see it happening in the forseeable future.  (Years)

I play with my home computer a lot and I decided that I want to teach myself Windows XP programming.  I want to learn how to do all kinds of things, the basics first then onward and upward.  I want to learn how to create rich, snazzy GUI's.  I currently have Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Professional installed on my computer.

I'd like to program in C++ but I'm willing and able to learn something else.

I kindly request from the community the following:

- What development environment do I want?
    - What language do I want to use?
    - A list of books?
    - General advice?

Basically, work sucks and I want to program, dang-it.  Given my age, salary and benefits, a new job is not an option, but boy I can dream.

Thank you very much!

• User profile image
    cro

retierney wrote:
     I want to learn how to create rich, snazzy GUI's. 

I would go with C# and WPF for that.

• User profile image
    retierney

Thanks! 

Turn stupid on.

What's WPF?

Turn stupid off.

• User profile image
    BrunoW

WPF = Windows Presentation Foundation, this is a technology to make the gui of applications.

I would advice you start here:
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/bb964633.aspx (Visual Basic)
    or
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/bb964631.aspx (C#)
    or
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/bb964629.aspx (C++)

or choose yourself here:
    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/bb308891.aspx